Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

Stanford Academic Calendar: 2022-23

Main content start

Autumn  -   Winter  -   Spring  -   Summer

All dates with times listed below align to the Pacific time zone.

Autumn Quarter 2022

July 30 (Sat) Application to Graduate opens for Autumn.

July 31 (Sun) Textbook Adoption deadline for Autumn quarter; see the University Bookstore website. 

Week of August 15 (Mon-Fri) Stanford Bulletin published with academic year 2022-23 degree requirements and course offerings.

August 15 (Mon) Axess opens for course enrollment for M.D. and M.S.P.A. students.

August 15 (Mon) Axess opens for course enrollment for J.D., J.S.M., L.L.M. and J.S.D. students.

August 29 (Mon) M.D. and MSPA first and second-year students, first day of instruction. See the School of Medicine academic calendar website.

September 1 (Thu) Axess opens for course enrollment for undergraduates and graduate students.

September 6 (Tue) Law School instruction begins for 1st-year J.D. students, J.S.M. and L.L.M. students. See the Law School academic calendar website.

September 15 (Thu) Autumn Quarter Cardinal Care Waiver Deadline; see the Cardinal Care website.

September 16 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) At-status enrollment deadline in order to receive stipend or financial aid refund within the first week of term.

September 16 (Fri) M.B.A. 1st-year instruction begins.

September 18 (Sun) New Graduate Student Orientation begins.

September 20 (Tue) New undergraduates arrive. Undergraduate housing opens for new students; see Residential & Dining Enterprises Calendar.

September 21 (Wed) New Student Orientation begins. Convocation. 

September 22 (Thu) Undergraduate housing opens for returning students; see Residential & Dining Enterprises Calendar.

September 26 (Mon) First day of quarter; instruction begins.

September 26 (Mon, 5:00 p.m.) Preliminary Study List deadline. Students must be "at status"; i.e., students must have a study list with sufficient units to meet requirements for their status, whether full-time, 8-9-10 units (graduate students only), or have submitted a petition for Undergraduate Special Registration Status or Graduate Special Registration Status. The late study list fee is $200.

September 26 (Mon, 5:00 p.m.) Deadline to submit Leave of Absence for full refund (see undergraduate leaves of absence and graduate leaves of absence). See Tuition and Refund Schedule for a full refund schedule.

September 26 (Mon) Law School instruction begins for 2nd/3rd-year J.D. and advanced degree students. See the Law School academic calendar website.

September 29 (Thu) Conferral of degrees, Summer Quarter 2020-21.

September 30 (Fri) GSB course add/drop deadline. See the full Graduate School of Business academic calendar.

October 14 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Final Study List deadline, except GSB. Last day to add or drop a class; last day to adjust units on a variable-unit course. Last day for tuition reassessment for dropped courses or units. Students may withdraw from a course until the Course Withdrawal deadline and a 'W' notation will appear on the transcript.

October 14 (Fri) Change of grading basis deadline for GSB courses.

November 7 (Mon, 5:00 p.m.) Term withdrawal deadline; last day to submit Leave of Absence to withdraw from the University with a partial refund.

November 8 (Tue) Democracy Day: day of civic service (no classes).

November 18 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Change of grading basis deadline, except GSB.

November 18 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Course withdrawal deadline, except GSB, Law, and M.D.

November 18 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Application deadline for Autumn Quarter degree conferral.

November 20 (Sun) UIT Extended Maintenance Window; Axess and other systems may be unavailable.

November 21 (Mon) Grade rosters open for current quarter.

November 21-25 (Mon-Fri) Thanksgiving Recess (no classes).

December 2 (Fri) Last day of Law classes. See the Law School academic calendar website.

December 3-8 (Sat-Thu) Law School Reading Period. See the Law School academic calendar website.

December 5-11 (Mon-Sun) End-Quarter Period.

December 9 (Fri) Last day of classes (unless class meets on Sat), except Law.

December 9 (Fri) Last opportunity to arrange Incomplete in a course, at last class.

December 9 (Fri, noon) University thesis, D.M.A. final project, or Ph.D. dissertation, last day to submit.

December 9 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Late application deadline for Autumn Quarter degree conferral ($50 fee).

December 9-16 (Fri-Fri) Law School examinations. See the Law School academic calendar website.

December 12-16 (Mon-Fri) End-Quarter examinations.

December 15 (Thu) Autumn Quarter Cardinal Care Petition for Early Cancellation due to Degree Conferral deadline; see the Cardinal Care website and Student Health Matters for more information.

December 17 (Sat, noon) Undergraduate housing closes for Winter Break; see Residential & Dining Enterprises Calendar.

December 20 (Tue, 11:59 p.m.) Grades due.

December 21-January 3 (Wed-Tue) Winter Closure; the University is closed.

January 5 (Thu, noon) Final Recommending Lists due.

January 12 (Thu) Conferral of degrees, Autumn Quarter.

Winter Quarter 2023

November 11 (Sat) Application to Graduate opens for Winter.

November 14 (Mon) Textbook Adoption deadline for Winter; see the University Bookstore website.

December 1 (Thu) Axess opens for course enrollment.

December 15 (Thu) Winter Quarter Cardinal Care Waiver Deadline; see the Cardinal Care website.

December 30 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) At-status enrollment deadline in order to receive stipend or financial aid refund within the first week of term.

January 7 (Sat) Undergraduate housing opens for Winter Quarter; see Residential & Dining Enterprises Calendar.

January 9 (Mon) First day of quarter; instruction begins for all students (except M.B.A. and MSx courses).

January 9 (Mon, 5:00 p.m.) Preliminary Study List deadline. Students must be "at status"; i.e., students must have a study list with sufficient units to meet requirements for their status, whether full-time, 8-9-10 units (graduate students only), or have submitted a petition for Undergraduate Special Registration Status or Graduate Special Registration Status. The late study list fee is $200.

January 9 (Mon, 5:00 p.m.) Deadline to submit Leave of Absence for full refund (see undergraduate leaves of absence and graduate leaves of absence). See Tuition and Refund Schedule for a full refund schedule.

January 12 (Thu) GSB instruction begins (M.B.A. and MSx courses only). See the full Graduate School of Business academic calendar.

January 18 (Wed) GSB course add/drop deadline. See the full Graduate School of Business academic calendar.

January 16 (Mon) Martin Luther King, Jr., Day (holiday, no classes).

January 27 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Final Study List deadline, except GSB. Final day to add or drop a class; last day to adjust units on a variable-unit course. Last day for tuition reassessment for dropped courses or units. Students may withdraw from a course until the Course Withdrawal deadline and a 'W' notation will appear on the transcript.

January 27 (Fri) Change of grading basis deadline for GSB courses.

February 20 (Mon) Presidents' Day (holiday, no classes; Law does hold classes).

February 22 (Wed, 5:00 p.m.) Term withdrawal deadline; last day to submit Leave of Absence to withdraw from the University with a partial refund.

March 3 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Application deadline for Winter Quarter degree conferral.

March 3 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Change of grading basis deadline, except GSB.

March 3 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Course withdrawal deadline, except GSB, Law, and M.D.

March 6 (Mon) Grade rosters open for current quarter.

March 12 (Sun) UIT Extended Maintenance Window; Axess and other ERP systems may be unavailable.

March 13 (Mon) Last day of Law classes. See the Law School academic calendar website.

March 13-19 (Mon-Sun) End-Quarter Period.

March 14-16 (Tue-Thu) Law School Reading Period. See the Law School academic calendar website.

March 15 (Wed) Spring Quarter Cardinal Care Waiver Deadline; see the Cardinal Care website.

March 17 (Fri) Last day of classes (unless class meets on Sat), except Law.

March 17 (Fri) Last opportunity to arrange Incomplete in a course, at last class.

March 17 (Fri, noon) University thesis, D.M.A. final project, Ph.D. dissertation, last day to submit.

March 17 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Late application deadline for Winter Quarter degree conferral ($50 fee).

March 17-24 (Fri-Fri) Law School examinations. See the Law School academic calendar website.

March 20-24 (Mon-Fri) End-Quarter examinations.

March 25 (Sat) Undergraduate housing move-out; see Residential & Dining Enterprises Calendar.

March 28 (Tue, 11:59 p.m.) Grades due.

March 30 (Thu, 5:00 p.m.) Final Recommending Lists due.

April 6 (Thu) Conferral of degrees, Winter Quarter.

April 15 (Sat) Winter Quarter Cardinal Care Petition for Early Cancellation due to Degree Conferral deadline; see the Cardinal Care website and Student Health Matters for more information.

Spring Quarter 2023

February 6 (Mon) Textbook Adoption deadline for Spring; see the University Bookstore website.

March 1 (Wed) Axess opens for course enrollment.

March 4 (Sat) Application to Graduate opens for Spring.

March 15 (Wed) Spring Quarter Cardinal Care Waiver Deadline; see the Cardinal Care website.

March 24 (Fri) At-status enrollment deadline in order to receive stipend or financial aid refund within the first week of term.

April 1 (Sat) Undergraduate housing move-in date for Spring Quarter; see Residential & Dining Enterprises Calendar.

April 3 (Mon) First day of quarter; instruction begins for all students (except M.B.A. and MSx courses).

April 3 (Mon, 5:00 p.m.) Preliminary Study List deadline. Students must be "at status"; i.e., students must have a study list with sufficient units to meet requirements for their status, whether full-time, 8-9-10 units (graduate students only), or have submitted a petition for Undergraduate Special Registration Status or Graduate Special Registration Status. The late study list fee is $200.

April 3 (Mon, 5:00 p.m.) Deadline to submit Leave of Absence for full refund (see undergraduate leaves of absence and graduate leaves of absence). See Tuition and Refund Schedule for a full refund schedule.

April 6 (Thu) GSB instruction begins (M.B.A. and MSx courses only). See the full Graduate School of Business academic calendar.

April 11 (Tue) GSB course add/drop deadline. See the full Graduate School of Business academic calendar.

April 14 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Application deadline for Spring Quarter degree conferral.

April 21 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Final Study List deadline, except GSB. Last day to add or drop a class; last day to adjust units on a variable-unit course. Last day for tuition reassessment for dropped courses or units. Students may withdraw from a course until the Course Withdrawal deadline and a "W" notation will appear on the transcript.

April 21 (Fri) Change of grading basis deadline for GSB courses.

May 15 (Mon, 5:00 p.m.) Term withdrawal deadline; last day to submit Leave of Absence to withdraw from the University with a partial refund.

May 21 (Sun) UIT Extended Maintenance Window; Axess and other ERP systems may be unavailable.

May 26 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Change of grading basis deadline, except GSB.

May 26 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Course withdrawal deadline, except GSB, Law, and M.D.

May 29 (Mon) Memorial Day (holiday, no classes).

May 30 (Tue) Grade rosters open for current quarter

June 1 (Thu) Last day of Law classes. See the Law School academic calendar website.

June 2 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Late application deadline for Spring Quarter degree conferral ($50 fee).

June 2-4 (Fri-Sun) Law School reading Period. See the Law School academic calendar website.

June 2- 8 (Fri-Thu) End-Quarter Period.

June 5-9 (Mon-Fri) Law School examinations. See the Law School academic calendar website.

June 7 (Wed) Last day of classes.

June 7 (Wed) Last opportunity to arrange Incomplete in a course, at last class.

June 8 (Thu) Day before finals, no classes.

June 9 (Friday, noon) University thesis, D.M.A. final project, or Ph.D. dissertation, last day to submit.

June 9-14 (Fri-Wed) End-Quarter examinations.

June 16 (Friday, 11:59 p.m.) Grades for graduating students due.

June 16 (Fri) Undergraduate housing move-out date (for all students not involved in Commencement); see Residential & Dining Enterprises Calendar.

June 17 (Sat) Baccalaureate Saturday.

June 17 (Sat) Senior Class Day.

June 17 (Sat) Law School Graduation Ceremony. See the Law School academic calendar website.

June 17 (Sat) GSB Graduation Ceremony.

June 17 (Sat) Medical School Graduation Ceremony.

June 18 (Sun) Commencement. See the Commencement website for further details.

June 19 (Mon) Posting of J.D. and M.D. degrees; degrees will be awarded with a conferral date of Commencement.

June 19 (Mon) Undergraduate Housing move-out date (for graduates and others involved in Commencement with permission); see Residential & Dining Enterprises Calendar.

June 20 (Tue, noon) Final Recommending Lists due.

June 20 (Tue, 11:59 p.m.) Grades for non-graduating students due.

June 22 (Thu) Posting of degrees; degrees will be awarded with a conferral date of Commencement.

Summer Quarter 2023

TBD (Sun) Axess opens for course enrollment.

June 15 (Thu) Summer Quarter Cardinal Care Waiver Deadline; see the Cardinal Care website.

June 16 (Fri) At-status enrollment deadline in order to receive stipend or financial aid refund within the first week of term.

June 26 (Mon) First day of quarter; instruction begins.

June 26 (Mon, 5:00 p.m.) Preliminary Study List deadline.

June 26 (Mon) Deadline to submit Leave of Absence for full refund (see undergraduate leaves of absence and graduate leaves of absence). See Tuition and Refund Schedule for a full refund schedule.

July 4 (Tue) Independence Day (holiday, no classes).

July 7 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Final Study List deadline. Final day to add or drop a class; last day to adjust units on a variable-unit course. Last day for tuition reassessment for dropped courses or units. Students may withdraw from a course until the Course Withdrawal deadline and a 'W' notation will appear on the transcript.

July 28 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Term withdrawal deadline; last day to submit Leave of Absence to withdraw from the University with a partial refund.

August 4 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Change of grading basis deadline.

August 4 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Course withdrawal deadline.

August 4 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Application deadline for Summer Quarter degree conferral.

August 7 (Mon) Grade rosters open for current quarter

August 12-17 (Sat-Thu) End-Quarter Period.

August 17 (Thu) Last day of classes.

August 17 (Thu) Last opportunity to arrange Incomplete in a course, at last class.

August 18-19 (Fri-Sat) End-Quarter examinations.

August 29 (Tue, 11:59 p.m.) Grades due.

September 1 (Fri, noon) University thesis, D.M.A. final project, or Ph.D. dissertation, last day to submit.

September 1 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Late application deadline for Summer Quarter degree conferral ($50 fee).

September 14 (Thu, 5:00 p.m.) Final Recommending Lists due.

September 28 (Thu) Conferral of degrees, Summer Quarter.

2023-24 First Day of Classes and End of Term

These dates are subject to change at the discretion of the University.

  • Autumn 2023-24: September 25 and December 15
  • Winter 2023-24: January 8 and March 22
  • Spring 2023-24: April 1 and June 12 (Commencement June 16)
  • Summer 2023-24: June 24 and August 17